KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 26 April 2013.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Mrs V Dagger, Mr R J Parry, Mr R Tolputt and Mr D S Daley

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

3. Minutes - 8 February 2013 (Item A3)

- (1) The Governor Support Officer informed the Panel in respect of Minute 1(1) that Mrs J Rumley had not yet returned her Authority Governor Nomination Form.
- (2) RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 8 February 2013 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

4. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (*Item B1*)

- (1) The Panel decided not to appoint Mr P Ananicz to the Governing Body of Five Acre Wood School as his appointment would have been contrary to Guideline 3, and because it did not consider that the grounds for overriding this Guideline were sufficiently exceptional.
- (2) The Panel decided not to appoint Mrs W Adriansee to the Governing Body of Riverhead Infant School as her appointment would have been contrary to Guideline 2, and because it did not consider that the grounds for overriding this Guideline were sufficiently exceptional.
- (3) The Governor Support officer informed the Panel that Mr N Matthews could not be appointed to the Governing Body of The Federation of Foxwood and Highview Schools as it was in the process of reconstitution. The position would no longer be available once this process was completed.
- (4) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mrs K Ray to the Governing Body of East Peckham Primary School as she had served with distinction as Chair of Governors and her child would be leaving the School in July.
- (5) The Panel noted that Mr D Smith's nomination form for the Governing Body of Lenham Primary School had now been received. His wishes had been unknown at the time of the previous meeting and his appointment would be backdated to take place from that date.

(6) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 4 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

2. CANTERBURY

SchoolAppointeeSimon Langton Grammar School for BoysMrs M RehalSt Thomas' Catholic Primary SchoolMr A ClarkeThe Community College WhitstableMr B Collings

3. DARTFORD

School Appointee
Rowhill School Mr C Sizmur

4. DOVER

SchoolAppointeeLydden Primary SchoolMr P SnookSandwich Junior SchoolMr M HartSandwich Junior SchoolMr R Merrick

5. GRAVESHAM

SchoolAppointeeCecil Road Primary SchoolMrs E VickeryLawn Primary SchoolMrs L BaxterRiverview Infant SchoolMrs J HutchinsonThe Gateway Community Primary SchoolMr A Sandhu

6. MAIDSTONE

SchoolAppointeeCoxheath Primary SchoolMrs K BirckbeckLeeds and Broomfield SchoolMrs V PuncherLenham Primary SchoolMr D SmithSandling Primary SchoolMrs M LangSt Margaret's CE SchoolMrs M NeavesStaplehurst SchoolMrs J Streeten

7. SEVENOAKS

SchoolAppointeeHorton Kirby CE Primary SchoolMr P CrowSt Paul's CE Primary SchoolMr B YatesWeald Community Primary SchoolMrs H Hamlyn

8. SHEPWAY

School
Moreham Primary School
Palmarsh Primary School
St Martin's CE Primary School, Folkestone
St Nicholas CE Primary School

Appointee Mr J Collier Mr K Kirkham Mr P Gane Mrs H Barrett

9. SWALE

School
The Federation of Bobbing Village School and Iwade
Community Primary School
Sheldwich Primary School

Mr S McGuinness

Mr A Golesworthy

Appointee

10. THANET

SchoolBirchington CE Primary School
Laleham Gap School
Laleham Gap School
Stone Bay School

Appointee
Mr M Jarvis
Mrs H Rogers
Mr I Murton
Mrs T Bigham

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

SchoolEast Peckham Primary School
Kings Hill School
St Stephen's Primary School
The Discovery School
Trottiscliffe CE Primary School

Appointee
Mrs K Ray
Mrs A Tyrell
Mr C Pink
Mr P Crispe
Mr S Hughes

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

SchoolBrenchley and Matfield CE Primary School
Frittenden CE Primary School

Appointee
Mrs J Buckley
Mr M Yeandle

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

PRUSwale Pupil Referral Unit
East Kent Health Needs Education Service
Oakfields Education Unit

Appointee
Mrs M Snelling
Dr A Noreley
Mr P Sayer

14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS

15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

Academy
Sheldwich Primary School

NomineeMr A Golesworthy

This page is intentionally left blank